The Research Computing Council serves as the voice and representative for IT decisions and priorities that impact the research mission of the university.

Research Computing Council Charge

This group is charged by the Chief Information Officer (CIO) and the Vice President for Research to:

  • Assist in setting the strategic agenda for research IT decisions
  • Ensure that outcomes and decisions are communicated back to the campus
  • Lead research IT collaboration efforts across campus
  • Advocate for necessary research IT resource allocations
  • Ensure that appropriate stakeholders have an opportunity for input and reaction
  • Create and charge subcommittees or task forces as necessary for deeper exploration or engagement
  • Provide council responsibilities as part of IT governance:
    • Raise and collect council-specific issues​
    • Analyze issues and make recommendations​
    • Engage other IT governance groups, university governance groups, and general campus stakeholders as appropriate

Research Computing Council Members

The Research Computing Domain Committee is led by a chair and a facilitator. The chair provides leadership by prioritizing discussions, and identifying the need for subcommittees and task forces. The functional work of the group is managed by the facilitator (setting up meetings and distributing information). Agendas are jointly developed and managed by the chair and the facilitator.

Meetings are facilitated by the Senior IT Director of ITS Research Services. A chair will be chosen bi-annually from the membership. Membership will include representatives from the office of the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development, UI Health Care, and representatives from the colleges conducting research or scholarly work, and can be expanded to include other critical units as needed. In general, members will serve three-year terms and new members will be nominated through consultation of the committee, collegiate research deans, and research administrators.

Subcommittees or ad hoc task forces may be created and charged by council membership to study and advise on specific questions or recommendations.

  • Joe Hetrick (facilitator), Senior Director of ITS Research Services
  • Milan Sonka (chair), Associate Dean, College of Engineering
  • Fred Boehmke, Professor, Political Science
  • Terry Braun, Associate Professor, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences and Biomedical Engineering
  • Gregory R. Carmichael, Professor, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering
  • Richard Hichwa, Senior Associate Vice President, Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development
  • Boyd Knosp, Associate Dean for IT, College of Medicine
  • Brandon LeBeau, Assistant Professor, Education
  • Qihang Lin, Assistant Professor, Management Sciences
  • Mike Schnieders, Assistant Professor, Biochemistry
  • Tim Shie, IT Director, College of Public Health
  • Brian Smith, Associate Profesor, Biostatistics
  • Richard Smith, Professor, Otolaryngology
  • Paul Soderdahl, Senior Associate University Librarian
  • Ashley Spies, Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy
  • Padmini Srinivasan, Professor, Computer Science

Ex-officio Members

  • Frank Delin, Senior Systems Administrator, State Hygienic Lab
  • Steve Fleagle, Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer